Movies – Amazing Spider-Man 2

Okay, so I was on my way to the dentist to make my monthly checking, when I noticed they were already playing Amazing Spider-Man 2 here where I live. So I decided to postpone the appointment and watch it, since, after all, I’m a Spider-Man movie fan.

I’ll admit, as much as I hate this aspect of mine, I’m not really, really big with the new Spider-Man trilogy. Ever since they announced it, I’ve been very ambivalent about it, and I didn’t really like it the first time I watched it. I mean, sure, I told my girlfriend I liked it, but I didn’t actually like it. The costume was pretty good, the main actor is on par with Maguire, the effects were pretty cool, the 3D was barely noticeable (she WANTED to watch it on 3D, damn it), but I wasn’t really into it. There were many aspects that I believe were handled better in the Raimi films.

That said, when the second one was announced, and the trailer came out, I was really, really hyped about it. I mean, there was Jamie Foxx as Electro, Paul Giamatti as the Rhino, a new take on the whole Norman/Harry Osborne thing, Gwen and Peter’s relationship, and all that.

And I’ll admit, all those aspects were pretty well done: Foxx nails it as Electro, Giamatti’s unforgivably-brief appearance steals the show, DeHaan makes a perfect Harry for the kind of take they’re doing here, Emma Stone is hot as usual, and Garfield is great as Spidey as usual.

But there was something in the movie, mostly in the latter parts, that didn’t really seem to mix with the rest of the awesomeness of it. Especially after a certain scene in the latter parts of the movie. That said, though it’s pretty enjoyable overall, and even if the new Spider-Man movies aren’t of your liking, or you just hated the first one, I recommend this for at least a once-a-time viewing in theaters.

 

Just don’t watch it in 3D. 3D a shit.